If you liked Romeo & Juliet, try reading…

A selection of YA fiction and more challenging reads for those who enjoyed the timeless themes and plot within Shakespeare’s play Romeo & Juliet.

 

ROJO Book 1

  1. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

A beautiful fantasy that is hauntingly captivating. A blue-haired, tattoo-covered Art student in Prague with no (apparent) background tries to understand who she is and quell the intense sense of longing. When she meets what she feels in her bones is her mortal enemy her world is sealed off from her. But in him she discovers a life she only saw shadows of before.

 

ROJO Book 2.jpg

2. Delirium by Lauren Oliver

A New York Times bestselling trilogy about forbidden love. For readers who love dystopias such as Rebel Born, Hunger Games and Divergent series.

 

ROJO Book 6

3. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Almost a rite of passage for secondary school-aged readers. Uplifting and made all the more poignant by the inevitability the characters we invest in hurtle towards.

 

ROJO Book 8

4. Tristan and Isolde

A tragedy borne from legends; thought to have influenced the Arthurian legends of Sir Lancelot and Lady Guinevere. Delve into this historical romance and you’ll find the similarities undeniable.

 

ROJO Book 7

5. Pride and Prejudice

Such a classic. Lacking the world-ending intensity of love that drives you to a double suicide, yet a timeless exploration in love that germinates in the most unlikely of pairings.

 

ROJO Book 3

6. Juliet Immortal by Stacey Jay

A twist on the classic tragedy, can it get any darker? Juliet doesn’t kill herself…

 

 

ROJO Book 5. jpg

7. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

A stunning dark portrayal of love so intense and powerful that it can cause the world axis to shift. A  gothic, romantic tale of beauty and savagery in many forms.

 

 

ROJO Book 4

8. Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman

Set in a parallel modern-day universe where the Crosses, people with darker skin, are held as superior in society over the Noughts, people with light skin. There is no equality and interracial relationships are discouraged, seen as threatening the status quo. Suicide, conflict, warring rivals and forbidden relationships are all themes in Noughts and Crosses that mirror Romeo & Juliet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s